Apple provides information on blocking mode

We reported on the start of the beta of iOS 16 via the optionally switchable blocking mode. Apple is now providing the relevant details. Probably not useful for all customers, but you never know. According to Apple, blocking mode offers extreme protection specifically for the few people who, because of their identity or their job, may be personally targeted by some of the most sophisticated digital threats. When blocking mode is activated, the device will not work as usual. To reduce the attack surface that highly specialized illegal spyware could potentially exploit, certain apps, websites, and features are heavily restricted for security reasons, and some features may not be available at all. Blocking mode is available in iOS 16 and soon in iPadOS as well as in macOS Ventura – and these are the details according to Apple:

When blocking mode is enabled, some apps and features work differently, e.g. E.g.:

  • Messages: Most message attachments are blocked, except for certain types of images, videos, and audio. Some features such as links and link previews are not available.
  • Browsing the Internet: Certain complex web technologies are blocked, which can cause some websites to load more slowly or not working properly. Also, web fonts may not appear, and images may be replaced with a missing image icon.
  • FaceTime: Incoming FaceTime calls will be blocked unless because you have called this person or contact before.
  • Apple services: Incoming invitations for Apple services, e.g. B. Invites to manage a home in the Home app will be blocked unless you have previously invited that person.
  • Shared Albums: Shared Albums are removed from the Photos app and new invitations to shared albums are blocked. You can still view these shared albums on other devices that don’t have block mode enabled.
  • USB Accessories: To connect your device to a USB accessory or another computer, the device must be unlocked.
  • Configuration profiles: Configuration profiles cannot be installed and the device cannot be accessed from mobile device management or device monitoring.

Phone calls and text-only messaging will continue to work when blocking mode is enabled. Emergency functions such as emergency SOS are not affected.

    You want to try it out?

    1. Open the Settings app.
    2. Tap on “Privacy & Security”.
    3. Under “Security”, tap on “Blocking Mode” and then on “Turn On Blocking Mode”.
    4. Tap on “Turn on blocking mode”.
    5. Tap on “Turn on & restart” , and enter your device passcode.

    When block mode is on, you may receive notifications when an app or Feature is restricted and a banner in Safari indicates lockdown mode is on. However, you can skip that mode for websites and apps you have chosen yourself, as Apple reveals:

    This is how you exclude a website while surfing: Tap on the “Site Settings” button > “Site settings”, then turn off blocking mode.

    How to exclude an app or edit your excluded sites :

    1. Open the Settings app.
    2. Tap on “Privacy & Security”.
    3. Tap on “Blocking Mode” under “Security”.
    4. Tap on “Configure web browser”.

    To exclude an app , disable this app in the menu. This list only shows apps that you opened after enabling block mode and that have limited functionality.

    To edit your excluded websites, tap Excluded Safari Websites > “Edit”.

    This article contains affiliate links, so we’re marking it as advertising. Clicking on it takes you directly to the provider. If you decide to make a purchase there, we will receive a small commission. Nothing changes in the price for you. Thank you for your support!

    Related Articles

    Back to top button